My Power-Up Button

This morning I came across this interesting and creative idea about “A Power-Up Button”.

In short, a “Power-Up Button” is a shape that you draw/tattoo somewhere on your body that you can easily see and you use as a reminder of something you want to attain.

Since I read “The Power of Now” by Eckhart Tolle, I’m really impressed by the idea of living fully in the present to become happier, more creative and joyful. To achieve that, I need to focus all of my energy and attention to what is happening rather than letting my mind wandering in the past or in the future. However, like many other people trying to escape from their thoughts to find inner peace, I encountered a number of triggers when I’m practicing this mindset. Too oftenly, I was overwhelmed by my thoughts and found myself going back to unhappy moments in the past or get caught in worries about future uncertainties. I feel angry with myself because of my inability to control my attention every time this happenes.

But thank to the author, I now have a new tool to help me overcome my habitual thinking and work towards the change I want to make. Coincedently, I have a small Om symbol tattooed on the inner part of my left wrist – which from today I will refer to as my Power-Now Button :D. I modifies the name a bit so it directly relates to my goal.

From this moment, every time I find my mind wandering in the past or the future (except for when I intentionally do it in reflection or planning), I will touch my Power-Now Button and direct my attention back to my breathing to be back to the present moment. It will take some time before I can tell you how it works but I’m really excited about this experiment. 

Om

That’s all for now. I wish you all a happy day!

Leave a Reply

